A day at the games


Yesterday I went to the Sumo-festival here in Tokyo and I learned that there is more to it than big, fat men pushing each other around. Darn, a shame the original posting is lost…
There are about 68 allowed winning moves (choking your opponent isn’t allowed), but tripping over your own feet (as I saw one of the wrestlers do) is not one of them but you still loose. I had a cheap ticket and had to sit in the last row, all the way in the back and above all. But there was a clear advantage to it* the first 6 rows are really not safe* several wrestlers tumbled upon (or: were pushed onto) the judges, sitting in the first row and then the wrestlers rolled further up to row 6. Not really funny, when such a 200+ kg guy rolls over you…
But to my amazement those big guys are extremely flexible and superfast! One of the topmatches lasted not even one second, it was so fast..just a wrong step of the attacker and …schwoop, he lost!
A pity my camera cannot zoom very far, but anyway: it was fun to be there, and the lunch (no, no sumo-food) was very nice.

