A little support for Japan PM Yukio Hatoyama


Japanese Prime Minister Yukio Hatoyama eats noodles in a many-coloured shirt, 4 April

Yukio Hatoyama's barbecue shirt raised eyebrows...

Yesterday the BBC published an article about Japan’s Prime Minister Yukio Hatoyama and his falling poll ratings because of his (lack of) sense for fashion. I must admit: his barbeque-shirt isn’t very …ehm, wel, it just isn’t.It does remind me of those flanel shirts all guys wore in the 70’s, but I think those are (luckily) history. At least I don’t have any of those shirts in my closet anymore.

Berlusconi with bandana

Berlusconi with bandana

But truth be told: Mr. Hatoyama is not the only politician with a lack of taste when fashion is concerned. 99.9% Of all male politicians walk around in the same-as-allways suits in black or dark-blue (so boring that I didn’t even take the trouble of searching a picture). My favorite bad-taste-politician is Berlusconi. Apart of his enormously failed attempts in singing, his choice in clothes is sometimes ‘surprising’.

Beatrix's hat mania

Beatrix's hat mania

The Dutch Queen Beatrix is – of course – another fine example. She has managed to start a fashion of women-wearing-the-weirdest-and-as-large-as-possible hats in the Netherlands ever since she came to power 30 years ago. Every year on Queen’s Day and a few other National Holidays you can see all women from the royal family (and usually most women in the Dutch Cabinet too) with the newest creations. Some remind me of Giger’s Alien

Mrs. Angela Merkel

Another easy example of poor taste is the German Chancellor Angela Merkel. Admittedly, she has improved her appearance a lot over the past 20 years, but I couldn’t withstand to show you this picture of Mrs. Merkel in the old days (although not sooo old). Even these days her hair reminds me of the hairdresser I had to go to when I was a kid. Maybe that’s why I cut my hair myself now 😉

Segolene Royal

Segolene Royal

I did search for a few other examples, like Dubya on his ranch, or so. But I even couldn’t find Mr. Sarkozy: when I guggld for him, the first 500.000 results were all of his wife… I must admit I prefer to see her, that’s true.

But all in all…. that chequered shirt is wrong, very wrong. Even when you’re in your own private garden. Only place to wear such a thing might be in your basement while doing some painting. But even that should remain private, very private!

