Haikyo [Urban ruins]


One of my favorite blogs is Gakuranman‘s Blog. Why? I’m not sure, but very likely simply because he seems to have managed taking the step into a new surrounding (from the UK to Japan is quite a different world), find a good job (on the JET Programme in Japan) and has learned the language in about 9 years (he has passed the JLPT level 1 recently).
So, yes, I am jealous 😉

Just now I found an interview with Michael (a.k.a. Gakuranman), which learns us a lot about who he is and how / why he became what and where he is now. Wow, now I AM jealous. Do you know that feeling you get every now and then (well, I get it every now and then) like “Had I known that 20 years ago…”, “Had I had that courage 20 years ago…” or so? Hmm, I guess having regrets about things you haven’t got is the best way to get a nice depression. And we don’t want that! So: let’s (re)start learning Japanese, plan a couple new visits and who knows what happens! I still DO want to visit the 88 Temples of Shikoku on bike…(after all I am Dutch).

I’m disgressing again… Michael has a category about haikyo (廃虚), which means something like urban explorations in abandoned buildings. Yesterday I found his article about his return to the adanboned docter’s shack.

The doctor's shack

The doctor's shack

If the thought of visiting abandoned buildings, usually in the middle of a forest, doesn’t scare you enough, than maybe some of the pictures in this article give you the creeps.

My absolute favorit picture is this puppet below, but don’t forget to read about the footprint on the ceiling in Michael’s article! Brrr!

The puppet

The puppet

Just some borrowed music for setting the right mood while watching the pictures: Borrowed music from Ellen.

an old hollowed-out lamp with the character 大 on it, meaning ‘large’

an old hollowed-out lamp with the character 大 on it, meaning ‘large’

2 thoughts on “Haikyo [Urban ruins]

  1. Thanks for the kind words :). Keep up your Japanese studies – I’m sure your drive will get you back to Japan soon enough!

    • Many thanks to you too, Michael! I know I’ll return to Japan again, the only question is: will I return to Berlin? 😉
      I hope you don’t mind borrowing a few of your pictures; I linked them on purpose back to your original article and (of course) left the watermark in place. It was difficult though to not use them all: they’re just too beautiful…

Comments are closed.