Japanese soul-food


Umbrellas are no use....

Umbrellas are no use....

Being as cold as it has been in the past 3-4 weeks in Berlin (prediction for tonight: -15 to -18°C), one can make pretty pictures walking around in the city.

Re-frozen...

Re-frozen...

But after a two-hour-walk through the cold I need something to get me warm again and to get my motor running again.

A.k.a. SOUL-FOOD!

This week I’ve tried a couple of times to make a nice looking and good tasting ( = like the real thing) Okonomiyaki, but tonight I succeeded! The ingredients (the flour and the okonomiyaki-sauce – yup, one can buy that stuff in Berlin!) have been standing around in my kitchen a few weeks already, but now they’ve come to their use.

Flour - and how Osaka-style Oki's are supposed to look

Flour - and how Osaka-style Oki's are supposed to look

.. and the yummie okonomiyaki-sauce

.. and the yummie okonomiyaki-sauce

Okonomiyaki - without the toppings yet

Okonomiyaki - without the toppings yet

Okonomiyaki - with the only topping I had available

Okonomiyaki - with the only topping I had available

A look inside...

A look inside...

As you may notice: a couple of toppings are still missing bacause they’re hard to get in Berlin. Most failing topping / ingredient are the katsuobushi (bonito flakes) and the aonori (seaweed flakes). Neither of them I have found yet in Berlin, so I’ll have to start improvising from here on. Sea-food available enough here! 😛 Next step is the Hiroshima-style okonomiyaki, which tastes even better….yummie!

If all else fails, I’m going to start my own どんぐり ( = Donguri)-Restaurant in Berlin – for some weird reason I have the feeling such a fast-food-chain is still missing from Berlin, plenty of customers available!

…and now Ad is happy and content and the dishwasher is doing its job…life can be so nice 🙂

One thought on “Japanese soul-food

  1. Pingback: Okonominixnie « Ad's travelblog & other thoughts

Comments are closed.