Okonominixnie


If you have followed my blog, you may have noticed my enthousiasm for the Japanese Okonomiyaki a.k.a. the Japanese soulfood.
A while ago I tried a few times to make the easiest version: the Osaka-style Okonomiyaki and after a few testruns I got something quite nice and good-tasting from it.

Second goal was: the Hiroshima-style Okonomiyaki. Today was my first try…
The start was simple (relatively speaking, then) and it even looked like the real thing:

Hiroshima-style Okonomiyaki

Hiroshima-style Okonomiyaki


..but at some point during the process of flipping it over, ad the fried noodles, flip it over again, add the egg, flip it over again and fry it until ready and flip it again onto my plate things started to go wrong. And at the end I had a cooked-and-fried-mix-of-cabbage-egg-dough-noodles-ham-shrimps with Okonomiyaki-sauce on top of it. *bummer*
So that’s why there’s no picture of the result either, that might take a couple of dozen retries more….

But the goal has been achieved (partially): my soul feels better again 😉

2 thoughts on “Okonominixnie

  1. Ik zou je brouwsels best eens willen proeven, ken hooguit sushi van de Japanner: bezorg je in Nederland???

Comments are closed.