An afternoon in the kitchen, a head full of endorphine


Actually I didn’t spend the whole day in my kitchen: it was more something of 1-2 hours. But this time all worked out great! So my head (and the rest of moi) is at the moment full of endorphines (except those places, where the food is).

Vereenigde Oost-Indische Compagnie

Vereenigde Oost-Indische Compagnie

This afternoon I raided the Asian Supermarket in the Kantstraße again – it’s getting a once-a-month shopping-trip. The supermarket is a bit far away from my place, but they’re just superb equipped with all things related with Asian cooking: not only Japanese, but Chinese, Thai, Vietnamese, Korean, etc. Loads of fresh stuff, but also dried things, fastfood, etc. And of course: most of them were imported by several Dutch companies. Like the days of the V.O.C. never really ended. Well,at least these times they pay for the goods.

Back to my cooking! Plan was:

  1. Adzuki bean rice
  2. Tricolor vegetables
  3. Sweet simmered Shiitake
  4. Lotus root salad

The beans are real mean thingies: you have to soak them for about 12 hrs, cook them for a few minutes and then replace the cooking water with fresh water. When finished, you look at the cooking-top and think: “OK, that cooking-top is lost; no way that I’ll ever get that cleaned again!”. Well, I’ll see what comes out of my dishwasher in an hour or so.
The lotus root is only available in dried form and needs to soak for at least 2 hours. I let it soak for 2 hrs and it was just so OK, so next time it’ll have to soak an hour or so more.
The tricolor veggies looks like normal, cooked cauliflower, carrots and zucchini, but they’re not: they’re blanched and then marinated in vinegar/salt/sugar for over an hour. So they taste quite different from the usual cooked veggies.
And – tadaaah – here’s what it looked like:

My bento-meal

I always thought the Japanese cuisine is sooo healthy, where almost no sugar is used, hardly any salt (replaced by the soysauce) and everything is steamed and so on. Well, forget it! I had to read the recipe for the adzukibeans-sidedish (not in the above picture) several times. I thought I misread the quantities, just like in the usual mix-up “tsp” (teaspoon) and “tbsp” (tablespoon), that one results usually in really, really salty things. But no, the recipe really said: ONE cup of beans and ONE cup of sugar (amongst other things). Obedient as I am, I cooked as described and the result looks as the picture in the book, but still…

First things first: this lady, Naomi Kijima,

Naomi Kijima

Naomi Kijima

wrote the recipe for the adzukibeans in this book:
Bento-boxes cookbook

Bento-boxes cookbook


Adzuki Beans

Adzuki Beans

And here’s what the result looks like. I’m not 100% sure whether I’ll ever get them out of that cup again: I think I’ll have to break them out and eat them like cookies:

My Adzuki Beans (no pun intended, no)

My Adzuki Beans (no pun intended, no)

2 thoughts on “An afternoon in the kitchen, a head full of endorphine

  1. De goeie ouwe Hema-rookworst.. dat zou in Berlijn best wel eens een Runner kunnen zijn 😉

  2. Gat in de markt gevonden: jij opent een HEMA in Berlijn (zoals deze ook al in Parijs is) en spendeert je opbrengt in de Aziatische foodshops. Iedereen blij.

Comments are closed.