“The sign of Al-Qaida”


This afternoon I spend laughing my head off after I read the posting on BBC about

..the Casio F-91W watch was viewed with suspicion by US officials as a possible sign of terrorist links..

ROFL!

Casio F-91W

Casio F-91W

Apparently The Guardian ‘found’ some secret documents (fell off a lorry) and they have now published them on their site. Not that I am a believer of the Guardian. Actually, I had to check my calendar to make sure it’s not April 1st anymore, but no: it’s not.

Accordingly to BBC, CIA, The Guardian and Wikipedia the watch is very popular with some – ehm – globalisation-critics based in Central-Asia.

A Casio-fan

Doh!

So, guess who just ordered himself a new watch? I only hope I remember to leave it at home on my next trip to the Ustited Nates. Or maybe not? It could bring me a free holiday on Cuba….

I just love the comments on the BBC-site:

Oh, there’s even a Wikipage with a list of Guantanamo Bay detainees accused of possessing Casio watches! My personal favorit is Abdelaziz Kareem Salim al-Noofayee, who apparently told his Tribunal:

“The guards here wear the same Casio watch I did. The watch I was wearing looked like the same one the guards wear here. Does that mean they’re al-Qaeda members?”

